My identity is …

My identity is very clear to me now, I am a black woman. -Lena Horne

I always see women of color idolizing Marilyn Monroe. However, at that time we could not even do the same things that Marilyn Monroe did, let alone, eat at the same restaurant. I think Lena Horne is a good role model because of her activism. She was very involved in the civil rights, but was also a pin-up, a singer, and an actress. Many people know her from The Wiz.

She refused to play the stereotypical roles that African Americans had to play at the time.

Cite:

http://www.biography.com/people/lena-horne-9344086

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “My identity is …

  1. Sure, I didn’t link you on purpose, it’s the related article function. What’s the name of your article?

Leave a Reply

